Previous Lord Lieutenants of Warwickshire

Ambrose Dudley, 3<sup>rd</sup> Earl of Warwick 1569 – 1570 vacant Ambrose Dudley, 3<sup>rd</sup> Earl of Warwick bef. 1587 – 21 February 1590 vacant William Compton, 1<sup>st</sup> Earl of Northampton 29 October 1603 – 24 June 1630 Spencer Compton, 2<sup>nd</sup> Earl of Northampton 17 July 1630 – 1642 Robert Greville, 2<sup>nd</sup> Baron Brooke 1642 (Parliamentarian) Basil Feilding, 2<sup>nd</sup> Earl of Denbigh 1643 (Parliamentarian) Interregnum James Compton, 3<sup>rd</sup> Earl of Northampton 18 July 1660 – 15 December 1681 Edward Conway, 1<sup>st</sup> Earl of Conway 23 January 1682 – 11 August 1683 Robert Spencer, 2<sup>nd</sup> Earl of Sunderland 5 September 1683 – 29 March 1686 George Compton, 4<sup>th</sup> Earl of Northampton 29 March 1686 – 5 December 1687 Robert Spencer, 2<sup>nd</sup> Earl of Sunderland 5 December 1687 – 20 June 1689 George Compton, 4<sup>th</sup> Earl of Northampton 20 June 1689 – 21 July 1715 John Montagu, 2<sup>nd</sup> Duke of Montagu 21 July 1715 – 5 July 1749 Francis Greville, 1<sup>st</sup> Earl Brooke 3 October 1749 – 29 June 1757 Francis Seymour-Conway, 2<sup>nd</sup> Marguess of Hertford 29 June 1757 – 14 June 1794 George Greville, 2<sup>nd</sup> Earl of Warwick 6 February 1795 – 2 May 1816 Francis Seymour-Conway, 2<sup>nd</sup> Marquess of Hertford 19 July 1816 – 28 June 1822 Henry Greville, 3<sup>rd</sup> Earl of Warwick 18 July 1822 – 10 August 1853 William Craven, 2<sup>nd</sup> Earl of Craven 12 September 1853 – 12 March 1856 William Leigh, 2<sup>nd</sup> baron Leigh 12 March 1856 – 21 October 1905 Hugh Seymour, 6<sup>th</sup> Marguess of Hertford 27 November 1905 – 23 March 1912 William Compton, 5<sup>th</sup> Marguess of Northampton 7 May 1912 – 15 June 1913 William Craven 4<sup>th</sup> Earl of Craven 18 July 1913 – 10 July 1921 Francis Leigh, 3<sup>rd</sup> Baron Leigh 8 August 1921 – 16 May 1938 Lord Henry Charles Seymour, 20 June 1938 – 18 June 1939 John Verney, 20th Baron Willoughby de Broke 28 August 1939 – 15 January 1968 Charles Smith-Ryland, 15 January 1968 – 1989 Francis FitzRoy Newdegate, 3<sup>rd</sup> Viscount Daventry 19 March 1990 – 17 January 1997 Sir Martin Dunne, 17 January 1997 – 30 March 2013 Timothy Cox, 2 April 2013 - present